Log in


The G100 - 23/24 April 2015

G100The Gallipoli 100 (G100) Storyline....

In 2008, a couple of masters rowers who now compete with North Bondi, came to me with the idea of a surf boat race at Gallipoli, to coincide with the 100th Anniversary of the ANZAC landings. Having been a boatie in the 60's and 70's, the idea had appeal. After several trips to Turkey, meetings with various Australian, New Zealand and Turkish Government officials, the idea turned into a reality with one key condition. The condition was that Turkey competes as well as Australia and New Zealand. 

Surf Safety Index

Gary McCoy from Bond University is working on a metric model that will quantify whether ocean conditions are too dangerous for surf carnivals. Picture: Adam Head

The Surf Safety Index (SSI) is a term we will hear much more about in the coming weeks and months. It is explained below by the two authors who are both long time surf lifesavers and competitors. The initial study has been funded by their employers at Bond University to whom we are most grateful for the foresight to help with such an important function of the modern day carnival.

Please enjoy the following article as it goes about setting out an introduction to the workings of the SSI.


All of us in the Surf Lifesaving movement remember the tragedies that occurred at the Australian Surf Lifesaving Championships at Kurrawa Beach in Queensland from 1996 through to 2012. A comment by the Coroner into the Saxon Bird death was particularly noteworthy. He stated that:

When lives are at stake it is not appropriate to seek to balance competing views or to seek consensus. Those responsible cannot try and calculate the average or most widely held view. The danger posed by wild surf is not capable of precise calibration.

Welcome to your new 2013-14 ASRL Committee

The ASRL AGM was held at South Port SLSC S.A. on 20 July, 2013 and your new ASRL Committeee for the 2013-14 season has been elected.

The ASRL CommitteePresident: Bert Hunt (2 year term)
Secretary: Rod Costa (2 year term)
Treasurer: Don Alexander (1 year term)

Vice Presidents

Grant Wilkinson (2 year term)
Don Cotterill (2 year term)
James McLaughlin (2 year term)
Geoff Matthews (1 year term)
Mick Lang (1 year term)
Stephen Blewett (1 year term)

ANNUAL REPORT: The 2012-13 ASRL Annual Report is now available for download.  Please click HERE to download the report

AGM MINUTES: You can click HERE to download a copy of the Minutes from the recent AGM

Subscribe to this RSS feed

Share Us...

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Subscribe to our Mailing List!

Search our Site